{"__v":3,"_id":"55af5ae7826d210d00041e4d","category":{"__v":7,"_id":"555a4e9b147f91190092d137","pages":["555a4fe6147f91190092d13b","556da37542dd610d00a3d026","55818c348625220d00429d13","55a6924a51457325000e4e08","55af5ae7826d210d00041e4d","5638e7e72fc5520d001a4cf0","5665cdbbe93ae70d00b969f3"],"project":"54cf411f9d09bb0d00a17a1c","version":"54cf411f9d09bb0d00a17a1f","sync":{"url":"","isSync":false},"reference":false,"createdAt":"2015-05-18T20:42:03.136Z","from_sync":false,"order":6,"slug":"account-management","title":"Account Management"},"parentDoc":null,"project":"54cf411f9d09bb0d00a17a1c","user":"54dd95e5c4a3570d009d490c","version":{"__v":14,"_id":"54cf411f9d09bb0d00a17a1f","project":"54cf411f9d09bb0d00a17a1c","createdAt":"2015-02-02T09:19:27.656Z","releaseDate":"2015-02-02T09:19:27.656Z","categories":["54cf41209d09bb0d00a17a20","54cfb99bbba1a023008741af","54cfb9a65ff7e617002bbd7f","54cfba03bba1a023008741b6","54cfba0ebba1a023008741b8","54cfba19bba1a023008741b9","54cfba29bba1a023008741bb","54cfba345ff7e617002bbd87","54cfba3ebba1a023008741bc","54cfba473995cf0d0006f6f0","54e371b18ef7552300409bf2","54e37aa5e887c50d005ef629","555a4e9b147f91190092d137","56b0e91802f4bc0d006ce254"],"is_deprecated":false,"is_hidden":false,"is_beta":false,"is_stable":true,"codename":"","version_clean":"1.0.0","version":"1.0"},"updates":[],"next":{"pages":[],"description":""},"createdAt":"2015-07-22T08:57:11.057Z","link_external":false,"link_url":"","githubsync":"","sync_unique":"","hidden":false,"api":{"results":{"codes":[]},"settings":"","auth":"required","params":[],"url":""},"isReference":false,"order":4,"body":"## If I downgrade or upgrade my plan, will I be charged twice?\n\nYou will not be charged twice, instead you'll be charged on a pro rated basis. As an example, lets say you're billed on the 1st of every month, and you're on the Micro Plan ($9). On the 15th, you switched to the Small Plan ($19). Here's how your monthly bill will be calculated:\n\n    $9 * (15/30) + $19 * (15/30) = $14 \n[block:callout]\n{\n  \"type\": \"info\",\n  \"title\": \"You're charged at the start of the billing cycle\",\n  \"body\": \"Please note that as you're charged at the beginning of the billing cycle, you will be charged for the change in the next cycle. So in the next cycle, you will be charged the extra pro rated amount from previous cycle along with the full amount for the next cycle.\"\n}\n[/block]\n## Why was I charged more after changing to a different plan?\n\nPlease note that you're charged at the _beginning_ of each cycle. As an example, lets say you're billed on the 1st of every month, and you're on the Micro Plan ($9). On the 5th, you switched to the Small Plan ($19). When the next month arrives, you've used 25 days on the Small plan, buy have only paid for the Micro plan, plus next month's charge for using the Small Plan. Here's how the calculation goes:\n\n    $19 * (25/30) - $9 * (25/30) + $19 = $27.3 \n    \nTo explain in a bit more detail:\n- Since you only used the Micro plan for 5 days, but we charged you for the whole 30, we subtract 25 days from the $9 charged (hence -$9 * (25/30))\n- Since you used 25 days worth of the Small plan without being charged for it last month, we add that to your bill (hence $19 * (25 / 30) )\n- We still need to charge you for next month, the rest was just adjustment for the previous month. So, added $19\n\nIf this is not clear, please feel free to contact support:::at:::c9.io and we'll be happy to help!","excerpt":"Commonly asked questions about account plans","slug":"account-plans-faq","type":"basic","title":"Account Plans FAQ"}

Account Plans FAQ

Commonly asked questions about account plans

## If I downgrade or upgrade my plan, will I be charged twice? You will not be charged twice, instead you'll be charged on a pro rated basis. As an example, lets say you're billed on the 1st of every month, and you're on the Micro Plan ($9). On the 15th, you switched to the Small Plan ($19). Here's how your monthly bill will be calculated: $9 * (15/30) + $19 * (15/30) = $14 [block:callout] { "type": "info", "title": "You're charged at the start of the billing cycle", "body": "Please note that as you're charged at the beginning of the billing cycle, you will be charged for the change in the next cycle. So in the next cycle, you will be charged the extra pro rated amount from previous cycle along with the full amount for the next cycle." } [/block] ## Why was I charged more after changing to a different plan? Please note that you're charged at the _beginning_ of each cycle. As an example, lets say you're billed on the 1st of every month, and you're on the Micro Plan ($9). On the 5th, you switched to the Small Plan ($19). When the next month arrives, you've used 25 days on the Small plan, buy have only paid for the Micro plan, plus next month's charge for using the Small Plan. Here's how the calculation goes: $19 * (25/30) - $9 * (25/30) + $19 = $27.3 To explain in a bit more detail: - Since you only used the Micro plan for 5 days, but we charged you for the whole 30, we subtract 25 days from the $9 charged (hence -$9 * (25/30)) - Since you used 25 days worth of the Small plan without being charged for it last month, we add that to your bill (hence $19 * (25 / 30) ) - We still need to charge you for next month, the rest was just adjustment for the previous month. So, added $19 If this is not clear, please feel free to contact support@c9.io and we'll be happy to help!